Subscribe options

Select your newsletters:

Please enter your email address:



  • 19th Energetic Particle Physics TG Meeting
    11 Sep - 13 Sep, 2017
    Princeton, US
  • 32nd Pedestal & Edge Physics TG Meeting
    18 Sep - 20 Sep, 2017
    Helsinki, Finland
  • 19th Transport & Confinement TG Meeting
    18 Sep - 20 Sep, 2017
    Helsinki, Finland
  • 19th Integrated Operation Scenarios TG Meeting
    09 Oct - 12 Oct, 2017
    Lisbon, Portugal
  • 30th MHD Disruptions and Control TG Meeting
    09 Oct - 11 Oct, 2017
    Barcelona, Spain
  • 33rd Diagnostics TG Meeting
    16 Oct - 20 Oct, 2017
    IO, St Paul Lez Durance, France
  • 8th ITPA CC/CTP Meeting
    07 Nov - 09 Nov, 2017
    ITER Organization, St Paul Lez Durance, France
  • 8th CTP Ex Com Meeting
    09 Nov - 09 Nov, 2017
    ITER Organization, St Paul Lez Durance, France
Charge to ITPA Topical Groups
* Adopted at the 6th ITPA Coordinating Committee Meeting, June 2005
  1. Topical group meetings are intended to be working meetings to further develop the physics basis for burning plasma experiments and to focus international collaborations. They are not intended to be additional conferences.  Each topical group should hold an average of two meetings per year, preferably with one meeting scheduled with other topical area groups and one meeting just for the work of the topical group. The Topical Group should aim to schedule every other meeting in conjunction with other major international meetings.  Aim to schedule meetings at least six months in advance and obtain approval of the ITPA Coordinating Committee (ITPA CC) for the meetings' schedule and location.
  2. Issue Meeting Executive Summary (a few pages) promptly after Meetings (within two weeks) to be distributed among the fusion community appropriate for unlimited distribution. Early distribution of Meeting Summary is also requested.
  3. Prepare a scope and task definition for the topical group for submission to the ITPA CC.  Identify opportunities for increased effectiveness, including revised scopes of topical areas, and choice of topical areas; identify how relevant databases will be maintained.
  4. Bring important new results achieved in the Parties' Base Programmes to the ITPA Coordinating Committee's attention.
  5. Identify and formulate Research Priorities for Physics R&D tasks relevant to next step tokamak burning plasmas.  These priorities are to be endorsed by the ITPA Coordinating Committee.
  6. Evaluate and document, from the Burning Plasma perspective, scientific progress regarding the Research Priorities and provide an annual written report to the ITPA Coordinating Committee.  Arrange for a wide distribution of this report within their area of expertise after acceptance by the ITPA CC.
  7. Communicate the importance of the ITPA Physics Research Priorities to their respective Parties and fusion research establishments and  foster collaborative research activities among international fusion research establishments.
  8. Recommend  the physics guidelines and methodologies for physics design calculations for burning plasma experiments.
  9. Consider future directions of fusion research in their topical area and report to the Coordinating Committee on the opportunities afforded by proposed future experimental facilities to support those lines of research.
  10. TG should submit a Meeting Proposal at least 3 months in advance to the CC Chair. CC Chair will send it to ITER IT Leader and then to ITPA CC Contact Persons for approval.
  11. TG should submit a half page report on each of the joint ITPA/IEA experiments and a proposal on the Inter-Machine Experiments by end of the fall Meetings after IAEA
  12. TG should iterate their high priority tasks with the relevant ITER Team member.

  • Duan Xuru
  • Wan Baonian
  • Zhuang Ge
  • EU
  • Donne Tony
  • Fasoli Ambrogio
  • Litaudon Xavier
  • India
  • Kaw Predhiman
  • Sen Abhijit
  • Bora Dhiraj
  • Japan
  • Kamada Yutaka
  • Masuzaki Suguru (Stell. Rep)
  • Takase Yuichi
  • Korea
  • Hwang Yong Seok
  • Kwak Jong Gu
  • Oh Yeong Kook
  • Russia
  • Ivanov Nikolay
  • Konovalov Sergey (Chair)
  • Notkin Gennady
  • USA
  • Greenfield Charles
  • Van Dam Jim
  • Hawryluk Richard
  • ITER
  • Campbell David
  • Lisgo Steve (ITER Dep. Chair)
  • IEA/ITPA Representatives
  • Borba Duarte (EU)
  • Ide Shunsuke (JA)
  • Kim Jin-Yong (KO)
  • Oyama Naoyuki (JA)
  • Zohm Hartmut (EU)
  • Alekseev Alexander (IO)
  • Luo Delong (CN)
  • Mandrekas John (US)
  • Campbell David (IO)
  • Jha Ratneshwar (IN)
  • Kwak Jong Gu (KO)
  • Pitts Richard (IO)
  • Oh Yeong Kook (KO)
  • Janeschitz Guenter (IO)
  • He Kaihui (CN)
  • Donne Tony (EU)
  • Kamada Yutaka (JA)
  • Litaudon Xavier (EU)
  • Shinohara Kouji (JA)
  • Fujita Takaaki (JA)
  • Merola Mario (IO)
  • Hawryluk Richard (US)
  • Ericsson Goran (EU)
  • Kaw Predhiman (IN)
  • Marmar Earl (US)
  • Yoon Si Woo (KO)
  • Koide Yoshihiko (JA)
  • Greenfield Charles (US)
  • Hill Dave (US)