Lettres d'information

Choisissez ce que vous souhaitez recevoir :

Merci de renseigner votre adresse de messagerie électronique :

@

Cliquez sur l'image pour la voir en pleine page

2020 2019 2018 2017

 (Click to view larger version...)
Pour l'organisation de la phase d'assemblage, tout ce qui n'est pas destiné à la fosse du tokamak-même est considéré comme « système auxiliaire », qu'il s'agisse des équipements installés dans le Complexe tokamak à quelques dizaines de mètres de la machine ou de ceux, plus éloignés, installés dans d'autres bâtiments de l'installation ITER.  

Pendant la première phase d'assemblage, on installera les systèmes indispensables à la création du premier plasma : cryogénie, circuit de refroidissement, électricité, un nombre limité de diagnostics ainsi qu'une partie du système de chauffage à résonance cyclotronique électronique.

A l'intérieur du Complexe tokamak, où un grand nombre de taches d'installation doivent être exécutés dans un temps limité, le choix a été fait de diviser les travaux entre deux prestataires et d'organiser le déroulement des activités par système, par zone et par séquence (voir l'encadré). Les taches ont été réparties de la manière suivante:

Installation des éléments mécaniques/Activités mécaniques : cuves, tuyauterie ; échangeurs de chaleur, pompes, moteurs ; structures métalliques ; chemins de câbles, câbles ; guides d'ondes ; isolation des tuyauteries ; essais de pression, vidange des tuyauteries.

Tokamak Complex (organized by system, location, sequence)

TCC/1 - heating and current drive, diagnostics, fuelling, secondary cooling, vacuum components. Contract award pending
TCC/2 - primary machine cooling water, test blanket module equipment, some vacuum pipework, vacuum vessel pressure suppression. Contract award pending

Balance of Plant
Group 1 - equipment installation in the Magnet Power Conversion buildings
Group 2 - installation of cooling water plant
Group 4 - installation of multi-process lines
Group 5 - installation of DC busbars, switching network and fast discharge units
Group 6 - installation of converters, transformers, reactive power compensation units, and harmonic filters

Installation des éléments électriques 
: barres d'alimentation courant continu ; éléments des circuits électriques ; câbles électriques de basse et moyenne tension ; éléments du système de contrôle-commande (câbles, armoires électriques) ; câbles électriques ; armoires de distribution de puissance.

La coordination des activités au sein du Complexe tokamak constitue un défi important dans la mesure où les prestataires de la phase d'assemblage devront opérer dans la proximité immédiate des entreprises sous-traitantes de l'Agence domestique européenne, lesquels seront toujours présents pour finaliser l'installation des équipements techniques du bâtiment (système HVAC, protections anti-incendie, services électriques...). Un nombre record de pièces (estimés à plus de 10 millions*), les connexions — très précises — entre systèmes, et un planning serré ajoutent à la complexité des opérations.

L'installation d'équipements a déjà commencé dans les zones du Complexe tokamak (au sous-sol) déjà transférées par l'agence domestique européenne à ITER Organization. Des activités d'installation sont également en cours dans certains des bâtiments auxiliaires sur la plateforme (usine de cryogénie, zone de rejet thermique, Bâtiment de servitude, bâtiments pour la conversion de puissance électrique, Bâtiment de radiofréquence).

L'assemblage des systèmes auxiliaires :

  • Nombre de composants : environ 10 millions, dont 1 million pour le seul tokamak
  • Installation des systèmes nécessaires au premier plasma : septembre 2018 — décembre 2024
  • Nombre de lots de travail prévus pour l'installation des systèmes dans le Complexe tokamak : xxxx
  • Longueurs de câbles installés avant le premier plasma : 5 000 km (ce chiffre doublera avant la phase d'opération à pleine puissance)

Subscribe options

Select your newsletters:

Please enter your email address:

@

Click for full screen

2020 2019 2018 2017

In the Tokamak Complex (pictured) and across the construction platform, teams are installing the systems that will support machine operation. (Click to view larger version...)
In the Tokamak Complex (pictured) and across the construction platform, teams are installing the systems that will support machine operation.
Everything outside of the Tokamak boundary falls into the category of "plant assembly"—including the installation of equipment and systems inside of the Tokamak Complex as well as the more standard plant installation works in buildings across the ITER platform.

First-phase plant assembly contracts cover the systems needed for First Plasma. These include the cryogenic, cooling water and electrical plants; basic diagnostics; some electron cyclotron heating, as well as large captive components in buildings.

For the most complex and time-sensitive area—the Tokamak Complex—the choice has been made to split the works between two contractors, and to organize the division of scope by system, location and sequence (see BOX). Although the two assembly contractors for the Tokamak Complex work in distinct areas, their work scope contains many common elements:

Mechanical and piping works: vessels, piping systems, tubing; heat exchangers, pumps, motors; metal structures; cable trays and cable pulling; wave guides; piping thermal installation; pressure tests, flushing

Tokamak Complex (organized by system, location, sequence)

TCC/1 - heating and current drive, diagnostics, fuelling, secondary cooling, vacuum components. Contract award pending
TCC/2 - primary machine cooling water, test blanket module equipment, some vacuum pipework, vacuum vessel pressure suppression. Contract award pending

Balance of Plant
Group 1 - equipment installation in the Magnet Power Conversion buildings
Group 2 - installation of cooling water plant
Group 4 - installation of multi-process lines
Group 5 - installation of DC busbars, switching network and fast discharge units
Group 6 - installation of converters, transformers, reactive power compensation units, and harmonic filters

Electrical and instrumentation and control (I&C) works:
DC busbars; switching equipment; low and medium voltage power cables; I&C cables and cabinets; cable trays and conduits; power distribution cabinets

Co-activity in the Tokamak Complex will be a challenge to manage, as ITER Organization assembly contractors work inside of congested areas alongside the European Domestic Agency contractors who are finishing the installation of building services such as HVAC, fire protection and electrical services. Also challenging are the installation tolerances, the large number of components (estimated above 10 million*) and the tight schedule.

The installation of piping has begun in the basement galleries of the Tokamak Complex that have been handed over as completed by the European Domestic Agency. Early work is also underway in plant buildings across the ITER platform that have reached "ready for equipment" milestones such as the cryoplant, the heat rejection zone, the Site Services Building, and the twin buildings for magnet power conversion.

*Ten percent of these 10 million components are part of the ITER Tokamak itself; the others are part of the plant.

More photos are available in the galleries for the cryoplant and the heat rejection system.

Plant Assembly Facts:

Number of overall components (estimated): 10 million (including 1 million Tokamak components)
Assembly of the First Plasma plant: September 2018-December 2024
Engineering work packages for plant assembly: xxxx
Cables laid before First Plasma: 5,000 km (double by Fusion Power Operation)
...