Enable Recite

Subscribe options

Select your newsletters:

Please enter your email address:


Your email address will only be used for the purpose of sending you the ITER Organization publication(s) that you have requested. ITER Organization will not transfer your email address or other personal data to any other party or use it for commercial purposes.

If you change your mind, you can easily unsubscribe by clicking the unsubscribe option at the bottom of an email you've received from ITER Organization.

For more information, see our Privacy policy.


  • 38th Pedestal & Edge Physics TG Meeting
    12 Jul - 16 Jul, 2021
  • 39th Diagnostics TG Meeting
    31 May - 03 Jun, 2021
    Daejeon, Korea
  • 26th Integrated Operation Scenarios TG Meeting
    17 May - 21 May, 2021
  • 25th Energetic Particle Physics TG Meeting
    17 May - 21 May, 2021

The general scope of the ITPA Energetic Particle Physics Topical Group is to tackle the qualitatively new physics element of ITER: dominant alpha particle heating. The group shall provide the experimental basis and the theoretical knowledge to give recommendation for both the conventional and advanced scenarios in ITER in the areas of: energetic particle driven instabilities (Alfvén waves and energetic particle modes) and their consequences for plasma heating and the first wall material; effects of non-axisymmetric magnetic fields such as field ripple, error/perturbation fields; interaction of fast ions with background magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) behaviour; neutral beam injection heating and current drive; and  runaway electrons. These activities will be coordinated with other Topical Groups where interests overlap. ITER itself will not mark the last stage in the development of fusion heating, and a comprehensive ab-initio understanding of fast particle effects on this device will be a necessary prerequisite for bridging the gap to DEMO.  The group shall therefore co-ordinate collaborative research activities in existing experimental devices, but in particular also encourage a close collaboration between theory and experiment. In addition, the group shall identify the diagnostic requirements for ITER, needed to extrapolate towards reactor relevant conditions (Q > 50). Publications and presentations on the activities of the group to fusion journals and international conferences will be promoted.


The Energetic Particle Physics Topical Group, on the basis of experimental and theoretical studies, shall provide input in the field of the following main subjects:

  • Destabilisation of Alfvén waves and Energetic Particle Modes (EPMs):
    • Measurements of damping rates of Alfvén waves (together with reliable mode identification: eigenfunction, frequency, etc.) and comparison with theory
    • Investigation of the drive of different kinds of Alfvén waves (toroidal, beta-induced, reversed shear, ...) and EPMs depending on the fast ion distribution function (energy and pitch angle)
    • Measurements of the influence of fast particle driven instabilities on the fast ion distribution function, expulsion of fast ions, comparison between experiments and state of the art non-linear theory/codes
    • Definition of benchmark test cases for fast particle stability codes
    • Development of relevant diagnostics, recommendations for ITER diagnostics
    • Prediction of the role of fast particle driven modes in ITER conventional and steady state scenarios, including the power load on the first wall caused by the fast particle loss and recommendations for operation
  • Effect of non-axisymmetric magnetic fields:
    • Comparison between theoretical predictions and measurements of fast ion losses caused by magnetic field ripple and error fields in present devices
    • Prediction of the power loads to the first ITER wall caused by error fields, ferritic inserts, test blanket modules and perturbation fields, i.e. by Edge Localized Mode (ELM) mitigation coils
  • Interaction of fast ions with background MHD:
    • Investigation of the interaction between background MHD activity and fast particle confinement in present day devices and comparison with theory
    • Prediction of the influence of Neoclassical tearing Modes (NTMs) and possible synergistic effects with field ripple/error fields on fast particle confinement in ITER
    • Influence of fast ions on sawtooth stability, development of control tools for ITER
  • Neutral Beam Injection (NBI) heating and current drive:
    • Investigation of the localisation of NBI heating and current drive
    • Prediction of the role of NBI current drive on current profile control in ITER


Hole Matthew


Cai Huisan
Chen Wei (Dep. Chair)
Chen Zhongyong
Xu Ming
Zhang Wenlu


Cappa Alvaro (Stell. Rep)
Dumont Remi
García-Muñoz Manuel
Kazakov Yevgen
Kiptily Vasili
Salewski Mirko (Chair)
Snicker Antti
Vlad Gregorio


Ganesh Rajaraman
Palle Prahlad Vatti
Singh Mahendrajit


Bierwage Andreas
Murakami Sadayoshi
Nagaoka Kenichi
Osakabe Masaki
Shinohara Kouji
Todo Yasushi
Yamamoto Satoshi


Kim Junghee (Contact)
Kim Kimin
Rhee Tong-nyeol
You Kwang-Il


Konovalov Sergey
Medvedev Sergei
Melnikov Alexander
Patrov Mikhail
Zaitsev Fedor


Breizman Boris
Fredrickson Eric
Gorelenkov Nikolai
Heidbrink Bill
Podesta Mario
Spong Don
Van Zeeland Michael


Pinches Simon (ITER Dep. Chair)
  • Akers Rob (EU)
  • Askinazi Leonid (RF)
  • Bakharev Nikolay (RF)
  • Baranov Yuriy (EU)
  • Collins Cami (US)
  • Ding Xuantong (CN)
  • Gin Dmitry (RF)
  • Guenter Sibylle (EU)
  • Guoyong Fu (US)
  • Hou Yawei (CN)
  • Kurki-Suonio Taina (EU)
  • Nazikian Raffi (US)
  • Nocente Massimo (EU)
  • Ochoukov Roman (EU)
  • Peng Xiaodong (CN)
  • Puglia Paulo (EU)
  • Qu Zhisong (AU)
  • Schneider Mireille (IO)
  • Shaing Kerchung (US)
  • Singh Mahendrajit (IO)
  • Testa Duccio (EU)
  • Turnianskyi Mikhail (EU)
  • Varje Jari (EU)
  • Wang Hao (JA)
  • Ward Samuel (EU)
  • Ayllon-Guerola Juan (EU)
  • Borba Duarte (EU)
  • Cecil Ed (US)
  • Chakraborty Arun (IN)
  • Duarte Vinicius (US)
  • Fasoli Ambrogio (EU)
  • Fil Nicolas (EU)
  • Graves Jonathan (EU)
  • Hayward-Schneider Thomas (EU)
  • Isaev Maxim (RF)
  • Jonsson Thomas (EU)
  • Lamalle Philippe (IO)
  • Lauber Philipp (EU)
  • Lazerson Samuel (EU)
  • Lestz Jeff (US)
  • Nabais Fernando (EU)
  • Oikawa Toshihiro (JA)
  • Oliver James (US)
  • Schoepf Klaus (EU)
  • Sharapov Sergei (EU)
  • Sumida Shuhei (JA)
  • Veshchev Evgeny (IO)
  • Viezzer Eleonora (EU)
  • Vincenzi Pietro (EU)
  • Zarzoso David (EU)
  • Asunta Otto (EU)
  • Bass Eric (US)
  • Bottino Alberto (EU)
  • Briguglio Sergio (EU)
  • Fitzgerald Michael (EU)
  • Ghai Yashika (US)
  • Ghosh Joydeep (IN)
  • Kang Jisung (KO)
  • Kocan Martin (IO)
  • Koenies Axel (EU)
  • Labit Benoit (EU)
  • Li Guoqiang (CN)
  • Mantsinen Mervi (EU)
  • McClements Ken (EU)
  • Meng Guo (EU)
  • Orsitto Francesco (EU)
  • Qiu Zhiyong (CN)
  • Saito Kenji (JA)
  • Sen Abhijit (IN)
  • Shishkin Alexei (RF)
  • Vallar Matteo (EU)
  • Waltz Ron (US)
  • Wang Xin (EU)
  • Weiland Markus (EU)
  • Beatrix Schunke (IO)
  • Biancalani Alessandro (EU)
  • Bilato Roberto (EU)
  • Brochard Guillaume (EU)
  • Cecconello Marco (EU)
  • Chapman Ian (EU)
  • Deshpande Shishir (IN)
  • Dvornova Anastasia (EU)
  • Geiger Benedikt (EU)
  • Goloborodko Viktor (EU)
  • Huang Juan (CN)
  • Jaulmes Fabien (EU)
  • Kramer Gerrit (US)
  • Lee Sangil (KO)
  • Lu Zhixin (EU)
  • Mukhovatov Vladimir (RF)
  • Pace David (US)
  • Praveenlal E. V. (IN)
  • Ren Haijun (CN)
  • Shevelev Alexander (RF)
  • Tani Keiji (JA)
  • Tinguely Alex (US)
  • von Hellermann Manfred (EU)
  • Wukitch Steve (US)