Lettres d'information

Choisissez ce que vous souhaitez recevoir :

Merci de renseigner votre adresse de messagerie électronique :



  • 34th Diagnostics TG Meeting
    23 Avr - 26 Avr, 2018
    San Diego, CA, USA
  • 20th Energetic Particle Physics TG Meeting
    23 Mai - 25 Mai, 2018
    St Paul-lez-Durance, France
  • 21st Transport & Confinement TG Meeting
    17 Sept - 20 Sept, 2018
    St Paul Lez Durance, France
  • 32nd MHD Disruptions and Control TG Meeting
    01 Oct - 03 Oct, 2018
    Napoli, Italy
  • 21st Integrated Operation Scenarios TG Meeting
    29 Oct - 31 Oct, 2018
    St Paul Lez Durance, France
  • 34th Pedestal & Edge Physics TG Meeting
    29 Oct - 31 Oct, 2018
    IO, St Paul Lez Durance, France
Veuillez nous excuser, mais cette page n'est pas encore disponible en Français.


The general scope of the ITPA Energetic Particle Physics Topical Group is to tackle the qualitatively new physics element of ITER: dominant alpha particle heating. The group shall provide the experimental basis and the theoretical knowledge to give recommendation for both the conventional and advanced scenarios in ITER in the areas of: energetic particle driven instabilities (Alfvén waves and energetic particle modes) and their consequences for plasma heating and the first wall material; effects of non-axisymmetric magnetic fields such as field ripple, error/perturbation fields; interaction of fast ions with background magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) behaviour; neutral beam injection heating and current drive; and  runaway electrons. These activities will be coordinated with other Topical Groups where interests overlap. ITER itself will not mark the last stage in the development of fusion heating, and a comprehensive ab-initio understanding of fast particle effects on this device will be a necessary prerequisite for bridging the gap to DEMO.  The group shall therefore co-ordinate collaborative research activities in existing experimental devices, but in particular also encourage a close collaboration between theory and experiment. In addition, the group shall identify the diagnostic requirements for ITER, needed to extrapolate towards reactor relevant conditions (Q > 50). Publications and presentations on the activities of the group to fusion journals and international conferences will be promoted.


The Energetic Particle Physics Topical Group, on the basis of experimental and theoretical studies, shall provide input in the field of the following main subjects:

  • Destabilisation of Alfvén waves and Energetic Particle Modes (EPMs):
    • Measurements of damping rates of Alfvén waves (together with reliable mode identification: eigenfunction, frequency, etc.) and comparison with theory
    • Investigation of the drive of different kinds of Alfvén waves (toroidal, beta-induced, reversed shear, ...) and EPMs depending on the fast ion distribution function (energy and pitch angle)
    • Measurements of the influence of fast particle driven instabilities on the fast ion distribution function, expulsion of fast ions, comparison between experiments and state of the art non-linear theory/codes
    • Definition of benchmark test cases for fast particle stability codes
    • Development of relevant diagnostics, recommendations for ITER diagnostics
    • Prediction of the role of fast particle driven modes in ITER conventional and steady state scenarios, including the power load on the first wall caused by the fast particle loss and recommendations for operation
  • Effect of non-axisymmetric magnetic fields:
    • Comparison between theoretical predictions and measurements of fast ion losses caused by magnetic field ripple and error fields in present devices
    • Prediction of the power loads to the first ITER wall caused by error fields, ferritic inserts, test blanket modules and perturbation fields, i.e. by Edge Localized Mode (ELM) mitigation coils
  • Interaction of fast ions with background MHD:
    • Investigation of the interaction between background MHD activity and fast particle confinement in present day devices and comparison with theory
    • Prediction of the influence of Neoclassical tearing Modes (NTMs) and possible synergistic effects with field ripple/error fields on fast particle confinement in ITER
    • Influence of fast ions on sawtooth stability, development of control tools for ITER
  • Neutral Beam Injection (NBI) heating and current drive:
    • Investigation of the localisation of NBI heating and current drive
    • Prediction of the role of NBI current drive on current profile control in ITER


Hole Matthew


Cai Huisan
Chen Wei
Chen Zhongyong
Xu Ming
Zhang Wenlu


Dumont Remi
García-Muñoz Manuel
Kiptily Vasili
Koenies Axel (Stell. Rep)
Kurki-Suonio Taina
Lauber Philipp
Salewski Mirko (Dep. Chair)
Sharapov Sergei


Ganesh Rajaraman
Palle Prahlad Vatti
Singh Mahendrajit


Bierwage Andreas
Murakami Sadayoshi
Nagaoka Kenichi
Osakabe Masaki
Shinohara Kouji
Todo Yasushi
Yamamoto Satoshi


Rhee Tong-nyeol
Ryu Chang-Mo
You Kwang-Il


Konovalov Sergey
Medvedev Sergei
Melnikov Alexander
Patrov Mikhail
Zaitsev Fedor


Breizman Boris
Fredrickson Eric
Gorelenkov Nikolai
Heidbrink Bill
Podesta Mario
Spong Don (Chair)
Van Zeeland Michael


Pinches Simon (ITER Dep. Chair)
  • Akers Rob (EU)
  • Benkadda Sadruddin (EU)
  • Cappa Alvaro (EU)
  • Deshpande Shishir (IN)
  • Ding Xuantong (CN)
  • Gin Dmitry (RF)
  • Graves Jonathan (EU)
  • Guenter Sibylle (EU)
  • Hou Yawei (CN)
  • Mukhovatov Vladimir (RF)
  • Nocente Massimo (EU)
  • Pace David (US)
  • Schneider Mireille (IO)
  • Sen Abhijit (IN)
  • Turnianskyi Mikhail (EU)
  • Varje Jari (EU)
  • Veshchev Evgeny (IO)
  • von Hellermann Manfred (EU)
  • Borba Duarte (EU)
  • Cecil Ed (US)
  • Chakraborty Arun (IN)
  • Fasoli Ambrogio (EU)
  • Isaev Maxim (RF)
  • Jonsson Thomas (EU)
  • Kocan Martin (IO)
  • Lamalle Philippe (IO)
  • Nabais Fernando (EU)
  • Nazikian Raffi (US)
  • Peng Xiaodong (CN)
  • Shishkin Alexei (RF)
  • Snicker Antti (EU)
  • Tani Keiji (JA)
  • Viezzer Eleonora (EU)
  • Waltz Ron (US)
  • Zarzoso David (EU)
  • Ayllon-Guerola Juan (EU)
  • Beatrix Schunke (IO)
  • Bilato Roberto (EU)
  • Briguglio Sergio (EU)
  • Fitzgerald Michael (EU)
  • Ghosh Joydeep (IN)
  • Huang Juan (CN)
  • Kramer Gerrit (US)
  • Mantsinen Mervi (EU)
  • McClements Ken (EU)
  • Oikawa Toshihiro (JA)
  • Rao Srinivasa (IN)
  • Ren Haijun (CN)
  • Saito Kenji (JA)
  • Testa Duccio (EU)
  • Weiland Markus (EU)
  • Wukitch Steve (US)
  • Asunta Otto (EU)
  • Baranov Yuriy (EU)
  • Bottino Alberto (EU)
  • Chapman Ian (EU)
  • Geiger Benedikt (EU)
  • Goloborodko Viktor (EU)
  • Guoyong Fu (US)
  • Kim Junghee (KO)
  • Lee Sangil (KO)
  • Li Guoqiang (CN)
  • Orsitto Francesco (EU)
  • Praveenlal E. V. (IN)
  • Schoepf Klaus (EU)
  • Shaing Kerchung (US)
  • Shevelev Alexander (RF)
  • Singh Mahendrajit (IO)
  • Toi Kazuo (JA)