Subscribe options

Select your newsletters:

Please enter your email address:


Your email address will only be used for the purpose of sending you the ITER Organization publication(s) that you have requested. ITER Organization will not transfer your email address or other personal data to any other party or use it for commercial purposes.

If you change your mind, you can easily unsubscribe by clicking the unsubscribe option at the bottom of an email you've received from ITER Organization.

For more information, see our Privacy policy.

The ITER Organization

The ITER Organization


 (Click to view larger version...)
The ITER Organization is an intergovernmental organization that was created by an international agreement signed in 2006, and formally established on 24 October 2007 after its ratification by all Parties. The Parties to the ITER Agreement (the ITER Members) are the People's Republic of China; the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom); the Republic of India; Japan; the Republic of Korea; the Russian Federation; and the United States of America.

The purpose of the ITER Organization is to provide for and promote cooperation among its Members for the benefit of the ITER Project, an international collaboration to demonstrate the scientific and technological feasibility of fusion energy for peaceful purposes. It acts as the overall integrator of the project and nuclear operator of the ITER facility.

The ITER Organization is staffed by men and women from the seven ITER Members. Approximately 1,000 directly employed staff, 200 ITER Project Associates and 500 external contractors work for the ITER Organization in Saint Paul-lez-Durance, France.

On 15 September 2022, the ITER Council selected Pietro Barabaschi as the fourth* Director-General of ITER Organization history. Mr Barabaschi will take up his functions in October.

*The ITER Organization was led by Director-General Bernard Bigot, from France, from March 2015 until his death in May 2022. (See a statement here. See a memorial page here.) Dr Eisuke Tada, took over the leadership of the project for the interim period.

More information on the legal status of the ITER Organization can be found in Legal Resources.

Download the organigramme of the ITER Organization here.

Click here to retrieve contact information for ITER Organization units.